Overview


LaborChart is a Workforce Management Solution, so it makes sense that the most important piece of your LaborChart platform is its people. This article will cover the differences in types of people that can exist in LaborChart as well as how to add them.


Types of People


There are three types of User Personas in LaborChart:

  • Users
  • Assignable Resources
  • Assignable Users (both a User and Assignable)


Users can sign in to LaborChart (access based upon group access & permission level). They do NOT show up in the Resource Bench to be assigned to projects.

Assignable Resources show up on the Board to be assigned to projects. They CANNOT sign in to LaborChart.

Assignable Users show up on the Board to be assigned to projects AND they can sign in to LaborChart (access based upon group access & permission level).


How to Add a New Person


From the People Page, select New in the upper left corner of the page. Next, enter the person's first and last name. Enter their Job Title (optional), email address (optional), mobile phone number (optional) and employee ID (optional).

Choose the user persona - User, Assignable or Both.


Create a person


If User, then you must select the Group(s) this person should have access to and choose their permission level. Once you select Save, the person you are adding will receive an email inviting them to join your account and provide a link to set their LaborChart password.

Select the person's Status - Active or Inactive

  • Active People show up on the Board for assignments (when Type = Assignable) and have sign in access (when Type = User or Both).
  • Inactive People do not show up on the Board for assignments (when Type = Assignable) and do not have sign in access (when Type = User or Both). Inactive People will stay in the system in the People Page, with their history from when they were active.


Once you have Saved the new person, you will be redirected to their details page, where you can enter any other relevant information such as Tags, addresses, emergency contact info, and any Custom Fields that have been configured in your Settings page.

It's recommended that you do not DELETE people. If they are no longer working with your company, it's best to change their status from Active to Inactive. This way, all information is preserved in LaborChart and can be referenced at a later date.

On the People Page, selecting the i icon will display a legend showing how to tell the difference between Users and Assignable People without going to their profiles.

Users have a silhouette of a person next to their name. Assignable Resources have a card next to their name, and Assignable Users will have both icons (see image below).


People Icons


Thank you for reading this support article. Please refer to the support library for regularly updated support documents.